Contemporary Fiction, Review

Living Lies by Natalie Walters

2019 has been an outstanding year for debut novels and Living Lies by Natalie Walters is boldly continuing that trend! This book is also one of my Highly Anticipated mid 2019 reads!

about the book

Living Lies by Natalie Walters (Harbored Secrets 1)

In the little town of Walton, Georgia, everybody knows your name—but no one knows your secret.

At least that’s what Lane Kent is counting on when she returns to her hometown with her five-year-old son. Dangerously depressed after the death of her husband, Lane is looking for hope. What she finds instead is a dead body.

Lane must work with Walton’s newest deputy, Charlie Lynch, to uncover the truth behind the murder. But when that truth hits too close to home, she’ll have to decide if saving the life of another is worth the cost of revealing her darkest secret.

Debut novelist Natalie Walters pulls you to the edge of your seat on the first page and keeps you there until the last in this riveting story that will have you believing no one is defined by their past.

goodreads | amazon | bookdepository | christianbook | bookbub

 

my thoughts

Authentic characters and an important message of mental health awareness and compassion are just the tip of the iceberg in this solid debut novel! Walters nails the small town dynamics and family drama in this instantly engaging law enforcement romantic suspense.

Charlie Lynch is a small town girl’s dream come true. He’s every kind of hero all wrapped up in one, brave enough to serve our country and follow what he believes is God’s will for his life. chivalrous and patient, loyal, devoted, and great with kids and pets. I think we can all agree that Charlie is a hands-down, no doubt about it, keeper.

Lane Kent needs a Charlie in her life, a friend, a protector, a man willing to listen and encourage. Her inner turmoil and rocky family relationships make meaningful friendships worth more than gold. Fiction needs more heroines like Lane, the gift of her perspective and experiences encourages us to mature in empathy.

Winsome secondary characters like Ms. Byrdie, five-year-old Noah, and even Bane the Terror Terrier round out the story with warmth, humor, and sentimental moments. I highly recommend this purposeful, inspiring, and action-packed story! Fans of Dani Pettrey and Lynette Eason will especially enjoy the style and pacing of Living Lies.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was under no obligation to post a review. The opinions expressed are my own.

 

about the author

Natalie Walters is a military wife of 22 years and currently resides in Hawaii with her soldier husband and their three kids. She writes full-time and has been published in Proverbs 31 magazine and has blogged for Guideposts online.

In addition to balancing life as a military spouse, mom, and writer, she loves connecting on social media, sharing her love of books, cooking, and traveling. Natalie comes from a long line of military and law enforcement veterans and is passionate about supporting them through volunteer work, races, and writing stories that affirm no one is defined by their past.

Visit her website or follow Natalie on facebook, twitter, or instagram!

 

Harbored Secrets series

Living Lies by Natalie Walters  Silent Shadows by Natalie Walters

 

Share your thoughts, reader friends! 

2 thoughts on “Living Lies by Natalie Walters”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s