Contemporary Fiction, Review

Ready or Not by Chautona Havig

Are you ready for unexpected adventures with Aggie and a whole brood of kids?! Ready or Not by Chautona Havig is the first book in the Aggie’s Inheritance series!

About the Book

Ready or Not by Chautona Havig 

After the abrupt loss of her sister and brother-in-law, Aggie is stunned to find herself the sole guardian of their eight lively children. If learning basic parenting skills wasn’t complicated enough, she must also battle the children’s half-crazed grandmother, survive a massive remodeling project, and navigate the waters of new friendships—alone.

She has little experience with children and none with housekeeping, and it shows. What she has going for her is grit, a double dose of determination, and the confidence that this is exactly where the Lord wants her to be. With an unlimited P-mail account and enough hymns to keep her spirits bolstered, she tackles one catastrophe after another.

It seems like nothing Aggie does is right, but ready or not, here she comes!

add to goodreads



My Thoughts

This book is an all-time favorite of mine and my tween daughter loves it, too! When tragedy strikes, recent college grad Aggie has the daunting task of creating a new happy home for her sister’s eight children. (Kudos to Aggie’s sister and brother-in-law for having a well thought out will and competent attorney.) Aggie is a sweet gal who loves Jesus and often sings hymns to calm, reassure, encourage, or redirect herself. The children each have their own unique personalities and their behavior is endearing, authentic, and often hilarious.

Aggie navigates the murky waters of grief, discipline, housework, renovations, and more with the support and encouragement of her friends. As a parent, this book touched my heart and reminded me that our children are ultimately God’s and though we are expected to care for them and for their needs, God is always in control and never surprised by any bend or twist in the path we see before us. Ready or Not by Chautona Havig is a humorous and encouraging story with a strong foundation of faith, family, and friends. This is the first book in The Aggie’s Inheritance series.



About the Author

Chautona HavigWhen asked about writing, author Chautona Havig says, “Books. I love them- always have. From my earliest years, I spent most of my free time lost in a book, until one day I realized that I had stories in my heart and mind that I wanted to tell. Time passed, life, family, and work got in the way, and my dream of being a writer seemed to vanish into the desert winds.

“Dreams are beautiful things, though; they never quite disappear. I began writing again, editing, writing, editing… more editing… and now I have over a hundred books in progress and a few dozen published. I write the stories of fictional people who have real problems, weaknesses, and triumphs. Through their stories, I try to share the Hope that is within me.”

Chautona lives in a small, remote town in California’s Mojave Desert with her husband and seven of her nine children. When not writing, she enjoys paper crafting, sewing, and the knowledge that someday she’ll be able to retire from home education.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest


Aggie’s Inheritance series

Ready or Not by Chautona Havig For Keeps by Chautona Havig Here We Come by Chautona Havig Ante Up! by Chautona Havig

I highly recommend adding Ready or Not by Chautona Havig to your tbr!

The fourth book in The Aggie’s Inheritance series releases June 27! Pre-order Ante Up! 


11 thoughts on “Ready or Not by Chautona Havig”

    1. She’s so versatile and outside the box! I love the way her Rockland series’ are interconnected and overlapping.


  1. So glad you reviewed this book, Beth! I read a serialization by Chautona a good while ago – her very first one, I think – and loved it. Several more are on my Kindle and hopefully I can get to them soon.


    1. I love the overall light-hearted vibe she has in Aggie’s series. Past Forward with Willow and Chad is another series I enjoyed but it has some seriously sinister characters! There are some Havig titles in waiting on my kindle, too! 🙂


  2. Past Forward … That’s the series I read, Beth. Except I probably only got halfway. She’s written several series and I have the impression that they need to be read in order because of recurring characters. Meanwhile, I can’t seem to say no to review commitments, so it may be a while! – Carole


    1. She has a handy timeline and a couple of suggested reading orders on her website! I love it when authors help us readers out like that! You’re all clear for reading Aggie if you read that far into Past Forward though 😉


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s