‘Til I Want No More with Robin W. Pearson q&a

Hello, reader friends! We are celebrating the release of ‘Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson with a visit and a giveaway! 

about the author

Robin W. Pearson

Robin W. Pearson’s writing sprouts from her Southern roots and her love of her husband and seven children. Both lend authenticity to her novels.

After graduating from Wake Forest University, she has corrected grammar up and down the East Coast in her career as an editor and writer that started with Houghton Mifflin Company twenty-five years ago. Since then she has freelanced with magazines, parenting journals, textbooks, and homeschooling resources.

Follow her on her blog, Mommy, Concentrated, where she shares her adventures in faith, family, and freelancing. Visit Robin’s website or connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram.

 

q&a

Describe ‘Til I Want No More in five words.

R: Pressure makes diamonds . . . or mud.

B: Wise words!

What is your favorite activity or hobby not related to books?

crossword puzzle
? Bannon Morrissy on Unsplash

R: My favorite activity is completing the puzzle section of the newspaper. In fact, that’s our main reason for subscribing. Every week I have a routine: I start with the Word Jumble in the middle of the page and then travel down to 7 Little Words. Next, I move up to Sudoku, and finally I complete the Crossword section at the very top of the page.

The Friday/Saturday paper is my favorite because there are actually three different puzzle sections since it’s a weekend issue. I get pretty cranky if someone recycles the paper before I can remove the Sports section, which holds the puzzles.

B: I’m not even sure if our local paper has a puzzle section, I’ll have to check and give it a try!

Do you have a favorite bookish habit?

R: My peeps know the left corner of the sofa in the sunroom has an invisible label with my name stuck to it. And tucked under the cushion is a pair of squishy socks that I can grab in a pinch, my way of staking a permanent claim.

When we moved, we had the room painted my favorite color, and it has the best views into the yard, which is best experienced on this side of the glass. In this room, I can be in my family but not of my family, depending on my needs at the time. I can close the pocket doors if I’m on a call, but since they’re French doors, I still can keep an eye on what’s happening around me.

Also, my room branches off the kitchen, so I’m near the coffeepot and I can note all the comings and goings. When my oldest daughter came home for winter break, she didn’t know this was “my spot,” so she set up shop there. I let her enjoy it for a bit—I mean, she’d just returned, so how could I kick her out?—before I handed her my rain boot. Everybody knows that when Mommy gives you “the boot,” it’s time to move.

B: Your sunroon spot sounds absolutely heavenly! If we ever move or add-on, I want a space just like that!

Share your inspiration behind ‘Til I Want No More.

family eating together
? Jimmy Dean on Unsplash

R: Both A Long Time Comin’ and ’Til I Want No More center around the importance of faith, family, and food. They show how our histories impact our expressions of faith, how we relate to each other, even how we cook and what we eat. I want my books to show realistic interactions, dynamics, and conversations among siblings, with husbands and wives, between parents and children, etc.

So I’m constantly studying and listening to my peeps and interviewing older family members and documenting stories. I’ve learned such rich family history! And I’ve enjoyed some yummy research, especially when Crusader and Hubby worked on a recipe for collard green egg rolls, what Maxine Owens loves to eat in my second book.

B: I have to pass on the collard green egg rolls but I love the heart behind your storytelling!

What is your reading style?

R: Before my writing career intensified, I consumed both a book and my lunch nearly every day. That’s my favorite reading getaway, quite a treat in a homeschooling family of nine.

Now that time is even more precious, I read almost anywhere and on any device, whatever is most convenient, but I’m sad to say, not as regularly as I’d like. I use e-books when I’m on the treadmill. When I’m reading for endorsement, I tend to use my computer because I can peek at a chapter while I’m working on other things.

But holding a hardcover book is still my absolute favorite; there’s nothing like turning a physical page. And with so many hands and so many readers in our house, hardcovers stand the test of time.

B: We are kindred spirits in this! I love my Kindle Paperwhite but I’m still a paperback gal at heart. All my little readers have their own unique genre prefrences and we’re a smaller homeschooling family of six. We definitely get hardcovers for the kids but I like packing as many of my own books as possible on my shelves!

What is your next release and/or what are you working on now?

R: I’m working on my third book with Tyndale, due out in 2022.

B: Ooooo, yay!

What’s your writing style?

writing space
? Laura Olsen on Unsplash

R: I’m pantser-like with plotter tendencies. The exciting part is figuring out the mystery(ies), what deep truth(s) my characters—and of course, my readers—will discover. Then I flesh out the characters themselves. Their personalities, quirks, and relationships are part of this mystery and “big reveal.” Once I develop these, the story flows by the seat of my pants.

B: Your Christy Award-winning pants seem to be working just fine!

What did you learn or discover about yourself while writing ‘Til I Want No More?

R: While developing Maxine Owens, my main character in ’Til I Want No More, I discovered my deep desire to be truly known while at the same time how much I fear rejection. I realized how important it is that I keep my eyes on the hills from whence cometh my help (Psalm 121:1). The Lord truly knows me and loves me completely, the way He designed me, flaws and all, and He calls me by name. That’s what Maxine has to learn as well.

B: Preach! Oh, good stuff!

Do you have any writing quirks?

R: After I finish my work-in-progress, I print it out and read through it yet again, armed with Post-its and my Paper Mate mechanical pencils. I take copious notes, organized by color, on inconsistencies, timelines, characters, and dialogue, etc. As I address these issues, I remove the notes, keeping them in a stack to refer to later.

B: Sounds like a solid system! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with us, Robin! 

 

about the book

‘Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson

Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson

When the man she loved years ago returns to town, one young woman’s complicated past rises again, threatening to expose her well-kept secrets.

If Maxine could put her finger on the moment when her life went into a tailspin, she would point back twenty years to the day her daddy died. She tells herself he’s the only person who ever really knew and loved her, and if he hadn’t left her behind, her future would’ve taken a different path. No absentee mother, no stepfather, no rebellious ripping and running during her teenage years. And no JD, who gave her wandering young heart a home, at least for a time.

But that’s over and done with. All grown-up now, Maxine has pledged her heart and ring finger to Theodore Charles, the man she’ll promise to love, honor, and obey in front of God and everybody. At least that’s what she’s telling anybody who will listen. The only folks buying it are the dog and the readers of her column, however. Her best friend and family aren’t having it—not even Celeste, the double bass–playing thirteen-year-old the community of Mount Laurel, North Carolina, believes is Maxine’s adopted sister. And apparently, neither is the newly returned JD, who seems intent on toppling Maxine’s reconstructed life. As her wedding day marches ever closer, Maxine confronts what it means to be really known and loved by examining what’s buried in her own heart and exposing truth that has never seen the light of day.

A Christian fiction novel with a poignant story of romance, a search for truth, and a journey to redemption. For fans of Chris Fabry, Lauren Denton, and Charles Martin.

goodreads | amazon | b&n | bookdepository | indiebound | christianbook | bookbub

 

giveaway

Thanks to the generosity of the publisher, one fortunate Faithfully Bookish reader friend will win a print copy of ‘Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson.

Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson giveaway on Faithfully Bookish

US only | ends 02/11/21 | giveaway policy

a Rafflecopter giveaway

also available

A Long Time Comin'

 

I can’t wait to read these books!
Be sure to add ‘Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson to your tbr!

15 thoughts on “‘Til I Want No More with Robin W. Pearson q&a

  1. I truly loved her debut (and Christy award winner!), so I’m definitely read to read more of her novels. Youdefinitely can’t go wrong with Robin W. Pearson’s writing!

  2. I haven’t read any of Robin’s books yet, but I shall have to remedy that soon. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks for the interesting interview/spotlight! It’s always great to learn more about CF authors. This book sounds so intriguing!

  4. Great interview! I can’t wait to read Robin’s books–they are on my TBR list!

  5. New to me but the blurb sounds like a good story. Thanks for the chance to read it.

  6. My book club has Robin’s book A Long Time Comin’ scheduled for March. I’ve heard a lot of good things about her books. They have great covers too. Thanks for the giveaway.

  7. Thank you for the Q&A with Robin W. Pearson. Always love learning more about authors whose book is on my TBR list. Can’t wait for the opportunity to read “‘Til I Want No More”.
    2clowns at arkansas dot net

  8. I enjoyed the interview (Q & A) with Robin Pearson, and I look forward to reading her series.

  9. I always love discovering new authors and Robin’s book sounds like one I would really enjoy reading.

  10. Robin seems like a fun lady! I haven’t read anything by her yet, but I enjoy getting her newsletter

Share Your Thoughts